Rental Policy

The Magoffin Home is a Texas State Historic Site that engages visitors in the history of West Texas and the Southwest Borderlands. A visit to El Paso’s only House Museum is an experience you don’t want to miss. We are pleased to offer rentals of the museum’s courtyard, grounds and Visitor Center for business meetings, banquets, receptions and other events. Special tours of the interior of the home can be arranged to coincide with your event but activities must not interfere with the normal public operation of the museum. Thank you for considering the Magoffin Home for your special occasion. To schedule a visit to view the grounds and discuss your plans, please call our office at 915- 533-5147.

The following outlines our general rental policy. All events scheduled during regular operating hours require special authorization.

Rental Hours/ Number of Guests

The Magoffin Home courtyard or grounds can be rented from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday depending on availability. No more than 70 people are allowed in the courtyard at one time. The grass area around the museum can be rented to parties of no more than 200 but only with additional rentals (see below). Grounds rentals include the courtyard.  There are no interior rooms at the Magoffin Home available for rent. With permission, caterers may use our small kitchen for water and washing small numbers of serving items.

The Visitor Center exhibit hall can be rented from 10 a.m. to 11 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday depending on availability. No more than 75 people are allowed at an event (The exhibit hall seats only 50 with tables). Caterers can use the kitchen classroom for serving, water, and washing small numbers of serving items.

Reservations/ Rates/Deposits

Reservations for facility rentals must be made at least 2 months in advance. Please call our office for an appointment to discuss your reservation and to fill out rental forms.

A signed agreement and a deposit of half the estimated total is required to confirm your date. Cancellation of your event less than two weeks before the event date will result in forfeit of the deposit.

For the Magoffin Home, a security deposit of $200 is due one month before an event. It is required to cover any miscellaneous penalties (trash removal, minor damage, etc.).

For the Visitor Center, a security deposit of $100 is due one month before an event.

Magoffin Home Rental Rates

Rental rates include 1-2 hours of set up time and 1 hour of cleanup.

Tours of the Magoffin Home interior can be arranged at the time of your event reservation at a cost of $3 per person.

  • Meeting rental rate:
    • Courtyard- $100 for 2-hours (includes chairs & tables)
  • Standard rental rate:
    • Courtyard- $400 for 4-hours
    • Courtyard and Grounds $600 for 4-hours
  • Non-profit rental rate:
    • Courtyard- $200 for 4-hours
    • Courtyard and Grounds- $400 for 4-hours
    • Meeting rate: $80 for 2-hours (less than 50 people, includes chairs & tables)

Magoffin Visitor Center Rates

Rental rates include 1-2 hours of set up time and 1 hour of cleanup.

Tours of the Magoffin Home interior can be arranged at the time of your event reservation at a cost of $3 per person.

  • Meeting rental rate:
    • $50 for 2-hours. Less than 50 people (includes chairs & tables)
  • Standard rental rate:
    • $200 for 4-hours
  • Non-profit rental rate:
    • $100 for 4-hours

Billing

Full payment is due on rented spaces five days before the event takes place. Any additional charges incurred during the event will be billed to the renter. Payment will be due within 30 days of the invoice date. Make checks payable to The Magoffin Home State Historic Site. Refunds of security deposits will be sent approximately 14 days following the event by the Texas Historical Commission.

Overtime Policy

An hourly charge of $200 will be added to the final bill for every hour or any portion thereof after the contracted end time of the event. This does not include 1 hour of clean-up you pay for in the rental fee. (Example: If you rented the facility until 9 p.m. and you actually finished at 10 p.m. you would have until 11 p.m. to clean up but you would be charged for the extra hour between 9 p.m. and 10 p.m.)

Insurance/ Liability

Renters must obtain Event Insurance with coverage of one million dollars for parties of 35 or more people and two million dollars for events where beer or wine is served. Renters must assume liability for their own event. A copy of the insurance certificate must be submitted 5 days before the event.

Catering

The Magoffin Home does not have a food service or a catering facility. Any caterer hired by the renter must be licensed and provide the museum staff with proof of licensure and a certificate of insurance in order to serve food on site. Food made at home may not be served on a state site. Individual groups who want to prepare their own food must obtain a food permit from the Texas Environment Department and provide museum staff with a copy at least two weeks before the event. Renters must meet all requirements of the permit while on site.

Alcoholic Beverages

Alcoholic beverages will never be served at the Magoffin Home State Historic Site during operating hours. Caterers serving beer and wine only must have a permit from the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission. All TABC laws must be followed at all times. Any person under the age of 21 will not be served alcohol under any circumstances. Renters themselves are not permitted to bring alcohol to the site. Alcohol only events are not permitted. Rental events may not use donated alcohol.

Deliveries

The museum will not accept any freight or other delivered item on behalf of the renter. Items must not be delivered prior to the day of the event.

Parking

Parking is limited on Magoffin Ave. to street parking and the Visitor Center parking lot at the corner of Magoffin Ave. and Octavia St. There is no charge for parking but event guests park at their own risk.

Security

Renters must hire one licensed peace officer to provide security for events of 80 people or more. Another guard must be hired for each 100 additional people on site.

Restrooms

The restrooms on at the Magoffin Home site accommodate only 100 people. Renters must rent porta-potties for additional guests.

Table, Chair, Tent & Floor Rentals

The Magoffin Home does not rent event furniture, tents or dance floors. All of these items must be rented from an outside source. Rental companies placing items on the site must provide the staff with a certificate of insurance.

Animals

“Guide” animals are the only animals permitted on the museum grounds.

Audio/ Visual

Renters must provide their own/or rent audio visual equipment. All cords and cables must be secured and approved for safety.

Music/ Entertainment/ Noise

The band, disc jockey or other entertainment will be required to notify the museum staff in advance of their equipment type, electrical set-up, and requested delivery schedule. They are responsible for their own equipment and set-up. The Magoffin Home is located in a residential neighborhood so sound levels must respect and conform to community standards. Very loud music will not be allowed and no amplified music is allowed after 10 p.m.

Event Information/ Messages

The museum is not responsible for providing event information to the public. A telephone number for your own organization or family should be included with your event literature. The museum is not responsible for taking messages for event attendees.

Smoking

Smoking is only allowed in one designated area south of the Magoffin Home. No smoking is allowed at the Visitor Center.

Invitations/ Promotional materials

Invitations for non-museum events may not use the name of the museum except as the designated location of the event. Renters may not use the name or likeness of the museum to promote any event. All promotional materials must be approved by the Texas Historical Commission before they are released. 

Children

Children must remain under the direct supervision of an adult at all times.

Clean-up

The renter/ caterer must leave the grounds in its original condition. Facility rental includes general trash removal at the end of the event. In the case of excessive trash, a cleaning fee will be added to the final bill. All left over decorations and other items will be considered trash. Food and drink trash must be collected and removed by the caterer immediately at the end of the event with their own trash bag liners.

Decorations/ Banners

The museum provides no decorator services. Most common decorations can be brought and used for special events outdoors. However, hanging streamers and other hanging decorations must be hung in a way that does not damage trees or landscaping and require prior approval. All decorations and the items used to attach them must be completely removed from the museum grounds. Failure to do so will result in the loss of the security deposit. Event related banners must be hung, with prior approval, by museum staff only. Not under any circumstances will decorations will be attached directly to the buildings. 

Fundraising Events

All fundraising events must be by invitation only and have prior approval from the Texas Historical Commission, Historic Sites Director. The museum reserves the right to refuse fundraisers for any group that discriminates on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, gender, age, religion, or disability. All public promotional materials must be approved by the Texas Historical Commission prior to release. It may take some time to obtain the approvals so please plan accordingly. We will not schedule this type of event without prior approval.

Prohibitions

  • Use of illegal substances is strictly prohibited
  • Guests may not enter the museum building for any reason without the permission of staff
  • Rice or confetti throwing is not allowed
  • No climbing on museum buildings, trees or fences
  • No guns, ammunition, or pyrotechnics are allowed

The museum staff will monitor events at all times and have authority to stop any unauthorized activity. Violations of any of the rules may result in the immediate termination of the rental agreement and the expulsion of the renter and his/her guests.