Visitors to Confederate Reunion Grounds experience a combination of cultural and natural heritage. The site includes three primary stories for preservation including the pre-history, post-Civil War Reunion Movement, and early Texas oil boom. Visitors have the opportunity to experience first-hand a Civil War-era cannon with documented history for both Federal and Confederate action, an 1893 Dance Pavilion listed on the National Register, and ruins of structures from the Mexia Oil Boom.
Natural heritage and recreational opportunities include walking trails, picnicking and playground use, Navasota River paddling trail for canoes and kayaks, fishing, birding trail, photography, group camping, historic landscaping, and wildlife. Visitors can combine the cultural and natural heritage during their visit, such as a picnic on the grounds and a walking, self-guided tour of historic ruins and structures on the site.
The site spans 76 acres and involves extensive walking to visit historic structures, ruins, and walking trails. Developed walking trails include Miss Mamie Kennedy’s Flirtation Walk (0.8 miles) and Tehuacana Trail (.35 miles). The interior roads are paved and many historic structures and ruins can be visited within a short walk from parking areas. Golf carts are available for visitors to use, if needed. Approximate tour times of the Confederate Reunion Grounds are given below:
- 30 minutes to view the site by car
- 2-3 hours to visit historic structures and ruins
- 4-5 hours to visit historic structures, ruins, and walking trails
- 6-8 hours to visit historic structures, ruins, walking trails, and enjoy natural heritage for canoeing/kayaking, picnicking, and/or fishing
A visitors center is located on site and staff is available to answer questions for visitors who want a more in-depth discussion of the site’s history. Parking is available on site and located at access points for the visitors center, walking trails, Navasota River, 1893 Dance Pavilion, restrooms, and playground area.
A museum store is located on site with caps, mugs, children’s toys, books, postcards, and other gifts for sale.
ADA-accessible restroom facilities are provided on site, and the 1893 Dance Pavilion is wheelchair accessible. Paved roads and parking as well as regularly-maintained grounds, walking trails, and sidewalks make this site visitor friendly.
Public restroom facilities are located in the visitors center as well as the interior of the site. Drinks are available for sale at the visitors center. Visitors are welcome to bring food and drinks on site. The site can accommodate very large groups, such as reunions, weddings, and overnight group camping.
While you're in the area, visit these nearby sites:
- Fort Parker State Park, Mexia
- Limestone Bluffs Paddling Trail on Navasota River, Mexia
- Old Fort Parker Historic Site, Groesbeck
- Fort Parker Monument and Memorial Cemetery, Groesbeck
- Limestone County Historical Museum, Groesbeck
- Downtown antique stores, Groesbeck
- B-RI Railroad Museum, Teague
- Freestone County Historical Museum, Fairfield
- W.L. Moody Camp, United Confederate Veterans, Fairfield
- Pearce Museum, Corsicana
- Texas Heritage Museum, Hillsboro
- Texas Civil War Museum, Fort Worth
For additional travel and history information, see the following resources: