Links to Preservation Partners

Within the preservation community are many important partners. Below is a sampling of national, state and local agencies and organizations with preservation or complementary missions.

National Preservation Resources

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation: www.achp.gov
African American Heritage Preservation Foundation: www.aahpfdn.org
The Alliance for Historic Landscape Preservation: www.ahlp.org
The Alliance for National Heritage Areas: www.nationalheritageareas.com
American Cultural Resource Association: www.acra-crm.org
American Institute of Architects: www.aia.org
American Planning Association: www.planning.org
American Society of Landscape Architects: www.asla.org
Association for Preservation Technology International: www.apti.org
Conservation Online: www.cool.conservation-us.org
The Cultural Landscape Foundation: www.tclf.org
Historic Bridge Foundation: www.historicbridgefoundation.com
National Alliance of Preservation Commissions: www.uga.edu/napc
National Center for Preservation Technology and Training: www.ncptt.nps.gov
National Council of State Historic Preservation Officers: www.ncshpo.org
National Film Preservation Board: lcweb.loc.gov/film/
National Historic Landmarks Program: www.nps.gov/nhl/
National Trust’s Main Street: www.preservationnation.org/main-street
National Park Service: www.nps.gov/history
National Register for Historic Places: www.nps.gov/history/nr
National Trust for Historic Preservation: www.preservationnation.org
Preservation Action: www.preservationaction.org
Preservation Directory: www.PreservationDirectory.com
Preservation Magazine: www.preservationnation.org/magazine
Preservation Trades Network: www.iptw.org
PreserveNet: www.preservenet.cornell.edu
Rails to Trails: www.railstotrails.org
Partners for Sacred Places: www.sacredplaces.org
Scenic America: www.scenic.org
Transportation Action Network: www.transact.org
Trust for Public Land: www.tpl.org

State Preservation Resources

American Planning Association, Texas Chapter: www.txplanning.org
Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: www.thestoryoftexas.com
Council of Texas Archeologists: http://counciloftexasarcheologists.org
Friends of the Texas Historical Commission, Inc.: http://thcfriends.org
Institute of Texan Cultures: www.texancultures.com
The Handbook of Texas Online: www.tshaonline.org
State Preservation Board: www.tspb.state.tx.us
Texas Association of Counties: www.county.org
Texas Downtown Association: www.texasdowntown.org
Texas Escapes: www.texasescapes.com
Texas Historical Commission: www.thc.texas.gov
Texas Historical Foundation: www.texashistoricalfoundation.org
Texas Legislature Online: www.capitol.state.tx.us
Texas Parks and Wildlife: www.tpwd.state.tx.us
Texas Rural Leadership Program: www.trlp.org
Texas Society of Architects: www.texasarchitect.org
Tribal Contacts for Texas: www.thc.texas.gov/project-review/tribal-consultation-guidelines/tribal-contacts

Local Non-Profit Preservation Partners

Abilene Preservation League:www.abilenepreservation.org
Galveston Historical Foundation: www.galvestonhistory.org
Preservation Houston: www.preservationhouston.org
Historic Fort Worth: www.historicfortworth.org
Historic Mesquite: www.cityofmesquite.com
Historic Tyler: www.historictyler.org
Preservation Dallas: www.preservationdallas.org
San Antonio Conservation Society: www.saconservation.org

Reference Sites with Links to Preservation Organizations, Resources and Communities

Link to Guidelines for Tribal Consultation: www.thc.texas.gov/project-review/tribal-consultation-guidelines

Link to partners on Preservation Texas’ website: www.preservationtexas.org/resources/links/

Link to Main Street cities: www.thc.texas.gov/preserve/projects-and-programs/texas-main-street/current-participants

Information about the County Historical Commission Outreach Program: www.thc.texas.gov/preserve/projects-and-programs/county-historical-commission-outreach

Link to Certified Local Governments in Texas: www.thc.texas.gov/certifiedlocgov/clgpartic.shtml

Archeology Links: www.thc.texas.gov/preserve/archeology