Nominations Open for Champions of Texas History and Heritage

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) offers awards to recognize accomplishments and exemplary leadership in the preservation of Texas history and heritage. The THC is now accepting nominations for the Governor’s Award for Historic Preservation and the John L. Nau, III Award of Excellence in Museums. Nominations must be received no later than March 3.

The THC’s most prestigious award, the Governor’s Award for Historic Preservation, is presented in a special ceremony arranged with the staff of the Governor’s Office. A wide variety of projects and volunteer efforts may be recognized through the Governor’s Award. Last year, the Texas Land Title Association received the Governor’s Award in recognition of its important contributions to courthouse preservation.

The John L. Nau, III Award recognizes an individual in the museum field for significant achievement. The award is presented at the facility that earns the distinction. In 2016, the John L. Nau, III Award was presented to the founders of the Bryan Museum, Mary Jon and J.P. Bryan.

Anyone may submit a nomination in accordance with the guidelines presented below each award as listed on our THC Preservation Awards page. The THC also offers the Award of Merit, which recognizes the efforts and contributions of a group or individual involved in preserving Texas’ cultural and historic resources. Nominations for this award may be submitted anytime throughout the year. For more information, contact the THC’s History Programs Division at 512-463-5853.