Previous Grant Recipients (Round IX)

The Texas Historic Courthouse Preservation Program (THCPP) awarded matching grants totaling $20,162,369 to eight counties to aid in preservation of their historic courthouses, including four grants for full historic restorations. In addition to full restorations, the Round IX grant cycle will provide funding to counties to address urgent need or create construction documents. The 25 applications submitted for the Round IX grant cycle in 2016 total more than $78 million in requested funds and over $140 million in anticipated project costs.

The grant recipients were announced on July 22, 2016 by the Texas Historical Commission at its quarterly meeting. Fannin, Karnes, Lynn, and San Saba counties received construction grants for full restorations. Cameron, Kleberg, and Willacy counties received emergency grants to address critical issues including structural problems, water accumulation, and hazardous material removal. Hunt County was awarded a planning grant to be applied toward the production of construction documents for a future application to the THCPP for a full restoration of their building. Read below for more details on the recipients.

The THCPP Round IX grants were made possible through a $20 million appropriation by the 84th Texas Legislature. The agency determined grant recipients and amounts by assessing applications using 21 criteria including the building’s age, endangerment, historical designations, and county support for the project. Emergency grants were based primarily upon the score assigned to the endangerment category.

Many of the state’s more than 240 historic courthouses are in disrepair due to insufficient funding for building care and maintenance. There are 74 participants in the THCPP whose needs for additional program funds are as yet unmet.

Round IX Press Release (PDF)

Round IX Score Sheet (PDF)

Round IX Emergency Score Sheet (PDF)

THCPP Round IX Grant Recipients:

  • Cameron County—$450,000 emergency grant award to address terra cotta repairs on the façade of the 1912 courthouse. Cameron County restored the exterior of the 1912 courthouse in 1995-98. However, the terra cotta repairs including the stainless steel fasteners were only made in limited locations. The terra cotta has since further deteriorated, particularly the cornice, which is cracked and failing due to the corrosion of the masonry reinforcements.

  • Fannin County—$5,040,000 full restoration grant award for their 1888 courthouse by architect Wesley Clark Dodson. This project will reverse changes to the three-story Second Empire courthouse that were made during a 1966 renovation and in 1930 following an extensive fire. Through restoration and reconstruction, the courthouse exterior and major interior public spaces will be returned to their nineteenth century appearance. Fannin County has construction plans & specifications available for the complete project which were funded through a Round V THCPP emergency planning grant in 2008.

  • Hunt County—$642,440 planning grant award to prepare construction documents for a complete restoration to its 1929 appearance, with preservation of original extant materials, rehabilitation of secondary spaces, and reconstruction of some damaged and missing plaster ornamentation.

  • Karnes County—$3,878,108 full restoration grant award to complete the final phase of a multi-phase restoration project of their historic 1894 courthouse. Work will include returning the courtroom to its original double-height configuration, restoration of the main corridors and offices, restoration of the north, east and south facades, and reconstruction of the clock tower. The work will also include handicapped accessibility modifications, installation of new mechanical, electrical, communications, fire suppression and alarm systems. The county has prepared construction documents for the full restoration and is ready to start the project immediately upon award.

  • Kleberg County—$450,000 emergency grant award to address severe structural problems, hazardous material removal and water infiltration in the exterior walls and windows.

  • Lynn County—$4,878,857 full restoration grant award to restore their 1916 Classical Revival courthouse designed by W. R. Rice. Exterior and site restoration work will include demolition of the adjacent 1960 jail, masonry repair, restoration of both monumental stairs and relocation of a state highway on the corner of the square. Interior work will reverse inappropriate interior finishes and make mechanical and electrical upgrades including a geothermal system, replacement of fluorescent light fixtures, new security, audio visual, and fire suppression/notification systems. Lynn County submitted approved construction plans & specs for this project with their Round IX grant application, which were produced with a Round V THCPP planning grant in 2008.

  • San Saba County—$4,419,995 full restoration grant award for exterior and interior restoration of their 1911 Texas Renaissance courthouse. Exterior features to be restored include the column capitals, clock tower elements, roof cornice and parapet entablature, brick and pilaster finishes, and paint. New heating, cooling and ventilation equipment will be installed to provide energy savings and improve comfort levels within the courthouse, and the capacity of the electrical distribution system will be expanded to allow the county to upgrade its security, communications, and data management systems. San Saba County submitted approved construction plans & specs for this project with their Round IX grant application, which were produced with a Round V THCPP planning grant in 2008.

  • Willacy County—$402,970 emergency grant award to address outdated systems and infrastructure, and repair deteriorated conditions, due primarily to moisture infiltration. Permanent sump pumps and outlets from the basement will remove standing water accumulations and reduce the humidity levels in the building. Selective demolition will remove non-original dropped ceilings and paneled wall surfaces.