J. Riely Gordon designed his first Neo-Classical Beaux Arts-style Texas courthouse in 1899. Two years later, the Harrison County Courthouse was constructed of corn yellow brick and carved Lueders limestone, with entry and upper porches supported by colossal pink granite columns adorned with terra cotta capitals. Lady Justice sits on top of the cupola and eagles grace the top edge of the roof line.
The interior boasts a stunning stained glass cupola and exquisite ornamental plaster and painting in the atrium and district courtroom.
The restoration opened porches that had been enclosed, rehabilitated windows and doors, updated the building’s systems, cleaned and restored brick and limestone masonry, opened the double height courtroom, and restored and recreated ornamental finishes throughout the building.
The building was rededicated June 20, 2009.
Before and After Restoration