The Rains County Courthouse designed by architect Andrew J. Bryan and constructed in 1908 is one of several Neo-Classical Revival courthouses built in Texas in the early 20th century.
The unique ginger colored brick was manufactured by the nearby Fraser brick company from clay excavated from the Rains County community of Ginger. Along with the brick, a simple but elegant sheet metal cornice and pediment crowns all four façades.
The restoration accomplished the removal of an exterior addition on the north elevation, installation of a new slate roof as well as metal shingles on the dome, the installation of a more appropriate and compliant access ramp, and the restoration of the sheet metal.
On the interior, wood paneling and non-original partitions were removed. Restored finishes include replication of a gold leaf on the cornice of the pressed metal ceiling in the district courtroom.
The building was rededicated October 16, 2009.
Before and After Restoration
Click on any image to view the photo gallery.