Tax Credit Program Highlight: Lubbock Post Office and Federal Building

Lubbock, Lubbock County



Individually listed in the National Register of Historic Places

Historic Use

Post office and federal courthouse

Current Use

Multi-family residence, offices

Date Certified

December 17, 2018


Also certified for Federal Rehabilitation Tax Credits.

Project Contact

RTGS Development, LLC; PreserveLandmarks, LLC; Brickhugger LLC; PSR Architects; Sustainable Supply LLC


The Lubbock Post Office and Federal Building stands as a symbol of federal government influence in the west Texan plains. Federal funds obtained through the 1926 Public Buildings Act spurred construction of federal building to meet the demands of a growing population and was completed in 1932. The United States District Court of the Northern District of Texas convened in this building until 1968, at which time it was used by Lubbock County for general offices. After years of neglect, the building was abandoned in 1998. Preservation Texas, a private non-profit historic organization, listed the Lubbock Post Office and Federal Building on its Most Endangered Historic Places list in 2011.

Rehabilitation Project

The building was sold by the county in 2014, to a group of private developers, who set about planning to convert the building into apartments. The building now has 23 apartment units, as well as office spaces in the basement. Historic fabric and features were preserved throughout, and each unit is truly unique. First floor units, where postal sorting occurred, have industrial features like slate floors, skylights, and even (inoperable) freight elevator doors. Two historic vaults on upper floors were converted to bedroom closets. Woodwork and marble trim is retained throughout the building. The original wood-paneled courtroom now serves as a large apartment with loft bedrooms.

Photo Gallery

Click on any image to view the photo gallery.

  • The original post office counter and other portions of the post office had been previously removed, so the new developers had some flexibility in altering the floorplan of the first floor. A new wall was added at the former counter location, to restore the overall size of the lobby. Remaining features such as the glass foyer and decorative ceiling plaster were restored.