Tax Credit Program Highlights: 108 & 110 N. Washington Street

La Grange, Fayette County

1886, 1939


Listed in the National Register of Historic Places as a contributing resource in the Fayette County Courthouse Historic District

Historic Use

Various Retail Shops

Current Use

Dental Office and Retail Shop

Date Certified

February 25, 2019


Certified for state tax credits only.

Project Contact

Brawley Investments; Schulenburg Glass Co., Inc.; Chris Janca Builders, Inc.


The Fayette County Courthouse Square Historic District represents the multiple stages of economic and architectural development of the city from the late-nineteenth century through the post-World War II period. With the coming of the railroad, fluxes of German immigration, and the rise and fall of the cotton crop, La Grange’s downtown commercial properties were frequently altered to meet consumer and retail needs. However, one-part or two-part commercial buildings constructed of brick or stone remained the standard, and such properties uniformly lined the sidewalks surrounding the courthouse. 108 & 110 Washington Street, a one-part brick commercial building originally built in 1886, typifies La Grange’s commercial architecture. Remodeled with a new addition in 1939, the building at 108 & 110 Washington has housed several retail interests over its long history including a general store, bakery, and saloon.

Rehabilitation Project

The current project began with simple roof repair. With that work underway, La Grange’s Main Street Manager convinced the long-time property owner, a dentist, to also restore the transom windows that had been removed by a previous owner and replaced with plywood. The availability of the tax credits helped persuade the owner to take on the additional work. New windows, with their unique configuration, match the building’s windows, as shown in historic photos. The final product improves not only the appearance of this building, but of the entire courthouse square.


(All photos courtesy of the applicant.)

Photo Gallery

Click on any image to view the photo gallery.

  • Prior to this project, the building's transoms were boarded over.