Information for 2022 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

Congratulations to 2022 Distinguished Service Award Recipients!

Distinguished Service Awards (DSAs) are administered annually by the Texas Historical Commission (THC) to County Historical Commissions (CHCs) that document well-rounded programs of work that preserve and promote Texas history. DSA recipients were announced over the CHC listserv on June 01, 2023. Our sincere thanks to all CHC appointees for your dedication to preserving and protecting your county’s historic and cultural resources. Please join the THC in congratulating the following CHCs for their receipt of a 2022 DSA and see the photo gallery below to learn more about their activities in 2022.

Aransas Collin Harrison Lamar Montgomery Tom Green
Atascosa Comal Hays Lampasas Motley Travis
Austin DeWitt Henderson Lavaca Nacogdoches Tyler
Bandera Dickens Hockley Liberty Navarro Van Zandt
Bell Duval Houston Limestone Newton Victoria
Bexar El Paso Jasper Live Oak Nueces Walker
Brazos Ellis Jeff Davis Lubbock Palo Pinto Waller
Burleson Fannin Jefferson Mason Parker Washington
Caldwell Fayette Jim Hogg Matagorda Pecos Wheeler
Cameron Fort Bend Johnson Medina Polk Wichita
Carson Franklin Kaufman Menard Rusk Wise
Cass Garza Kendall Milam San Saba Wood
Chambers Goliad Kerr Mills Tarrant Young
Cherokee Harris Kimble Montague Taylor  

Look for the DSA Packet

County Judges: DSA packets were mailed to county judges of award receiving CHCs on June 1, 2023. The packet contains a cover letter, list of DSA recipients, 2022 Annual Report summary, DSA promotional ideas, and the DSA certificate. Packets should be delivered by USPS to county judges within a week. In some cases, delivery may take longer. The packet is a white, 13" x 10," cardboard envelope. For your reference, a sample is provided here.

CHC Chairs: DSA packets were mailed to chairs of award receiving CHCs on June 1, 2023. The packet contains a copy of the cover letter sent to county judges. Packets should be delivered by USPS within a week to the address listed on file with our office. In some cases, delivery may take longer. 

Public Award Presentation

A DSA does not carry a monetary award, which makes public validation of this honor even more important. Traditionally, county judges present DSA certificates to CHC appointees during a formal meeting of the commissioners court. Officials will work with appointees to provide sufficient notice of the meeting date/time so that appointees can attend. Formal DSA presentations affirm the value of CHC service and dedication. If an in-person presentation is not feasible, consider additional promotional opportunities in the section below.

Promoting CHC Accomplishments

At the local level: There are numerous ways county officials can promote CHC accomplishments to the public. Read the DSA Promotional Flyer which provides recommendations such as distributing a press release, promoting the award through social media, and personal expressions of gratitude. 

At the THC: THC staff contribute to this effort by using project descriptions from DSA receiving CHC's annual reports to promote exemplary preservation practices on our website and over the listserv. 

Photo Gallery

Click on any image to view the photo gallery.

  • Atascosa CHC and Medina CHC sponsored the Annual Battle of Medina Symposium commemorating the 209th anniversary of the Battle of Medina. The annual event is used as an educational tool to teach the public and audiences outside of the county about The Battle of Medina and the culmination of the First Texas Revolution. The opening ceremony consisted of short dedications from the Sons of the American Revolution, the Atascosa County Judge, the Mayflower Society, Daughters of the Republic of Texas, San Antonio Founding Families, Mescalero Apaches Association, and descendants of Battle of Medina combatants. The afternoon saw presentations on Landowners' Rights in Regards to Archaeological Searches, Battle of Medina discoveries during Archaeological digs, 1810-1813 Revolution Era Politics, and the History of the First Texas Revolution.