Celebrate The Lone Star State's Historic Preservation Heroes

Nominations for the 2020 Texas Historical Commission’s (THC’s) Preservation Awards have been extended through July 31, 2020. 

The THC offers these annual awards to recognize the most accomplished and prestigious historic preservation leaders and projects in Texas.  

The THC is accepting nominations for the following historic preservation awards: Governor’s Award for Historic Preservation; John L. Nau, III Award of Excellence in Museums; Ruth Lester Lifetime Achievement Award; John Ben Shepperd County Historical Commission Leadership Award; George Christian Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Award; Curtis D. Tunnell Lifetime Achievement Award in Archeology; Anice B. Read Award of Excellence in Community Heritage Development; THC Award of Excellence in Preserving History; THC Award of Excellence in Historic Architecture; and THC Award of Excellence in Media Achievement. 

Winners of the awards will be decided at the Commission’s October 2020 Quarterly Meeting, and all nominees will be notified of their status shortly afterward.  

Anyone may submit a nomination in accordance with the guidelines listed at thc.texas.gov/awards.  

The THC also offers the Award of Merit, which recognizes the efforts and contributions of a group or individual involved in preserving Texas’ cultural and historic resources. Nominations for this award may be submitted anytime throughout the year. 
For more information, contact the THC's History Programs Division at 512-463-5853.