Submit Nominations for THC's 2021 Preservation Awards!

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) offers annual awards to recognize worthy accomplishments and exemplary leadership in the preservation of Texas’ heritage. The THC accepts nominations for the following categories of annual historic preservation awards:

  • Governor’s Award for Historic Preservation
  • Ruth Lester Lifetime Achievement Award
  • John Ben Shepperd County Historical Commission Leadership Award
  • George Christian Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Award
  • John L. Nau, III Award of Excellence in Museums
  • Curtis D. Tunnell Lifetime Achievement Award in Archeology
  • Anice B. Read Award of Excellence in Community Heritage Development
  • Texas Historical Commission Award of Excellence in Preserving History
  • Texas Historical Commission Award of Excellence in Historic Architecture
  • Texas Historical Commission Award of Excellence in Media Achievement
  • Award of Merit

 Most of the above awards are typically presented at the following year's Real Places Conference

The THC’s most prestigious award, the Governor’s Award for Historic Preservation, is presented in a special ceremony arranged with the staff of the Governor’s office, and awards of merit presentations are arranged by THC staff or submitting individuals and organizations as time allows. 

Applications are open. The deadline for submissions for the 2021 THC Preservation Awards is July 15, 2021 at 5:00 p.m. (Award of Merit nominations can be submitted at any time).  

Winners of the awards will be decided at the Commission's October 2021 Quarterly Meeting, and all nominees will be notified of their status shortly afterwards. 

Guidelines for the 2021 awards are available below: 

Texas Historical Commission Awards Guidelines (PDF)

Texas Historical Commission Awards Nomination Cover Form (PDF)

  • Use this form with each entry

Award of Merit (PDF)

  • Recognizes the efforts/contributions of a group or individual involved in preserving Texas’ cultural and historical resources.