Certified Local Government

The Certified Local Government (CLG) Program is a local, state, and federal government partnership to empower local communities to better protect historic resources by identifying local priorities, meeting recognized historic preservation standards and providing access to financial and technical services to further the identification, evaluation, designation and protection of buildings, sites, districts, structures, and objects.

Local governments that participate in the CLG Program act independently to develop and maintain a successful preservation program. The Texas Historical Commission administers the program at the state level and the National Park Service is the responsible federal agency. 

The benefits of becoming a CLG are access to technical assistance from CLG Program Staff, a network of local preservation commissioners and historic preservation officers from around the state, workshops and other trainings specific to local preservation challenges, and the annual CLG Grant Program. 

What's New

Recipients of FY19 CLG Grant Selected

Congratulations to recipients of the FY19 CLG Grant. Click HERE for more details about the selected projects. 

CLG Handbook 2019

CLG Handbook Cover

The new Certified Local Government Handbook is finally here! With facts for existing and future CLGs, we hope that this document will be a valuable source of information for our Texas communities. Dowloand your copy HERE.