Texas Historic Courthouse Preservation

2019 Courthouse Cornerstones available now!

Texas courthouses are among the most widely recognized, used, and appreciated assets in our communities. With some courthouses dating from as far back as the mid-19th century, they were among the first permanent structures in many counties. With their brick and stone towers, ornate cupolas, and soaring domes, they represent an impressive collection of public architecture. Not surprisingly, Texas has more historic courthouses than any other state—242 are still in active government use. With decades or even centuries of use, most of these structures have significantly deteriorated due to inadequate maintenance, insensitive modifications, or weather-related damage.

The Texas Historical Commission's (THC) nationally recognized and award-winning Texas Historic Courthouse Preservation Program (THCPP) has turned around the trend of disrepair and begun restoring these treasured historic landmarks. To date, the program has funded 70 Texas courthouse restorations, and another 26 courthouses have received emergency or planning grants to complete small projects.

More About the Texas Historic Courthouse Preservation Program



Revitalization Projects Completed in Denton Since their Courthouse Restoration

More Fast Facts

What's New

THCPP Revised Rules

The THCPP Advisory Committee developed recommendations for the program rules, which were presented in 2018. The recommendations helped shape changes that were approved and implemented in January 2019. The amendments to program rules include a revision allowing credit for prior capital expenditures and in-kind contributions toward a grant recipient's cash match, and adding a new scoring criterion on "Ability to Pay."
Texas Administrative Code 13.2.12 (website) 
Texas Administrative Code 13.2.12 (PDF)

THC Awards Courthouse Preservation Planning Grants to 25 Counties

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) is allocating nearly $1.2 million to 25 counties with awards of up to $50,000 each to help plan for preserving their historic courthouses. The agency announced the grant recipients during its January 2019 quarterly meeting in Austin. These recipients have a previously approved courthouse preservation master plan, but have not yet been successful in receiving full courthouse restoration funding from the THC's Texas Historic Courthouse Preservation Program (THCPP). Counties receiving the grant awards are: Bandera, Bell, Blanco, Burnet, Chambers, Clay, Coleman, Collin, Duval, Frio, Grayson, Hall, Hutchinson, Jefferson, Kimble, Kleberg, Limestone, Mason, McLennan, Randall, Robertson, Taylor, Upshur, Willacy, and Wise counties.


Read the full press release here.

Photo Gallery

Click on any image to view the photo gallery.

  • Rededication ceremony for the Bosque County Courthouse.