Centennial Marker, US 67, Mount Vernon

Address: Centennial Marker, US 67, Mount Vernon

Date: Exactly 1936

Historic Uses: Centennial Marker

Stylistic Influences:

National Register of Historic Places: Individually Eligible

Previous Designations: National Register Eligible (Indiv.)

Other Historic Designations: 5159009843

Main Content

Franklin County

Formed from Titus County, created March 8, 1875; organized April 30, 1875. Named in honor of Benjamin C. Franklin, 1805-1873, hero of San Jacinto, district judge of the Republic of Texas, member of the Legislature. County seat: Mount Vernon.

Pink granite 1936 Centennial marker #9843.