Undertold Markers


This year's Undertold Marker Application period will open November 1 - December 15th, 2020.


Beginning in 2006, the THC began collecting a state-mandated $100 marker application fee “to establish an account to offer funding incentives for special or priority markers." Funds are intended to address historical gaps, promote diversity of topics, and proactively document significant underrepresented subjects or untold stories.  

The THC accepts nominations for 2020 undertold marker funding through the Marker Application Fund starting in the Fall from November 1st to December 15th, 2020.


Please click on the link below to download this year's Undertold Marker Application: 

Applications must be submitted by December 15, 2020 to Markers@thc.texas.gov

What topics score well in the Undertold Program? Find out here.

2019 Approved Undertold Topics
County Topic
Bailey Pastores of Bailey County
Brazoria The Hon. Nathan H. Haller
Burleson Smith Grade High School
Comal Our Lady of Perpetual Help Cemetery (HTC)
Dallas Johnny Graham
Dallas Dr. Edgar Ewell Ward
Denton St. John's Community
El Paso Women Suffragists in El Paso
Freestone Booker T. Washington School
Harris Jackson's Barber Shop & Beauty Salon
Hays Alba Ranch
McLennan Evangelia Settlement
Rusk Unknown No Longer: Anadarco Slaves Legacy Project
Stonewall Aspermont High School (RTHL)
Travis St. John's Industrial Institute and Home

Topics funded in previous years include the following. More details about each marker can be found on the Historic Sites Atlas database.


  • Emma Tenayuca (Bexar Co.)
  • Alvin Ailey (Bell Co.)
  • Heinrich Mordhorst (Comal Co.)
  • Dr. C.B. Fuller (Wichita Co.)
  • Charlie Brown (Brazoria Co.)
  • Andrew "Rube" Foster (Robertson Co.)  
  • Dr. Thomas Edison Dixon (Bell Co.)
  • William Sidney Pittman (Dallas Co.)
  • Lexie Dean Robertson (Van Zandt Co.)
  • Timothy Smith (Anderson Co.)  
  • Eddie Durham (Hays Co.)   
  • Estella Portillo Trambley (El Paso Co.)
  • Mary Jim Morris (Hunt Co.)  
  • Mabel Welch (El Paso Co.)
  • Dr. Sofia Herzog (Brazoria Co.)
  • Jovita Idar (Webb Co.)
  • Trinidad Concha (El Paso Co.)
  • Buelah Ann Harriss (Denton Co.)
  • J.E. Freeman (Wharton Co.)
  • Tex Avery (Williamson Co.)
  • Gloria Evangelina Anzaldua (Hidalgo Co.)
  • Jack Johnson (Galveston Co.)
  • Tim Cole (Tarrant Co.)
  • Barbette (Williamson Co.)
  • Joe Tex (Bell Co.)
  • Olga Samaroff (Galveston Co.)
  • James Farmer Jr. (Harrison Co.)
  • Dr. Annie Davis Roark (Wichita Co.)
  • Osjetea Briggs (Anderson Co.)
  • Marcelino Serna (El Paso Co.)
  • J. Mason Brewer (Goliad Co.)
  • George Owens (Nueces Co.)
  • Pvt. David Bennes Cantú Barkley (Webb Co.)
  • Rufus Cornelius Hickman (Wood Co.)
  • Frank Ellis Ferree (Cameron Co.)
  • Cicero Howard (Colorado Co.)
  • Etta Moten Barnett (Colorado Co.)
  • Frederick Douglas Moore (Denton Co.)
  • Henry "Ragtime Texas" Thomas (Wood Co.)
  • The Hon. Nathan H. Haller (Brazoria Co.)
  • Johnny Graham (Dallas Co.)
  • Dr. Edgar Ewell Ward (Dallas Co.)


  • Galveston Movement (Galveston Co.)
  • Pleasanton School Integration (Atascosa Co.)
  • Houston's First Sit-in (Harris Co.)
  • Chinese Immigration to El Paso (El Paso Co.)
  • Terry v. Adams (Fort Bend Co.)
  • German Immigration through Carlshafen (Calhoun Co.)
  • Council House Fight (Bexar Co.)
  • Porvenir Massacre (Presidio Co.)
  • Midwestern University Desegregation (Wichita Co.)
  • First Comanche-German Meeting (Mason Co.)
  • Delgado v. Bastrop ISD (Bastrop Co.)
  • Bazan and Longoria Murder (Hidalgo Co.)
  • Jesse Washington Lynching (McLennan Co.)
  • "Millican Massacre" (Brazos Co.)


  • Sabine Farms (Harrison Co.)
  • Weeping Mary Community (Cherokee Co.)
  • Peyton Colony (Blanco Co.) 
  • Lamesa Farm Workers Community (Dawson Co.)
  • Little Mexico (Kimble Co.)
  • Pershing Chinese (Bexar Co.)
  • Stowell Community (Chambers Co.)
  • Grant's Colony (Walker Co.)
  • Korean Texans (Dallas Co.)
  • Choctaws in Texas (Shelby Co.)
  • Robstown Migrant Labor Camp (Nueces Co.)
  • Syrian-Lebanese Community in El Paso (El Paso Co.) 
  • Marshall: Birthplace of Boogie Woogie (Harrison Co.)
  • Antioch Colony (Hays Co.)    
  • Bentleyville (Jeff Davis Co.)
  • 10th Street Freedman's Town (Dallas Co.)
  • Quakertown (Denton Co.)
  • Chinese American Community of Houston (Harris Co.)
  • Cologne Community (Goliad Co.)
  • Newcombville (Bexar Co.)
  • Polish Quarter (Bexar Co.)
  • Wood Street Historic Settlement (Travis Co.) 
  • Rancho del Atascoso (Atascosa Co.)     
  • Arkadelphia Community (Bowie Co.)
  • Italy Colored City Hall (Ellis Co.)       
  • Pleasantville (Harris Co.)
  • Native Peoples of La Junta de los Rios (Presidio Co.)
  • Dixie Freedom Colony (Jasper Co.)
  • Corpus Christi Longshoremen's Unions (Nueces Co.)
  • The Drag: Huntsville's African American Business District (Walker Co.)
  • St. John’s Community (Denton Co.)
  • Evangelia Settlement (McLennan Co.)

Structures (RTHLs)

  • Hidalgo Park Quiosco (Harris Co.)
  • St. Paul United Methodist Church (Dallas Co.)
  • Sherman County Courthouse (Sherman Co.)
  • Delta County Patterson Museum (Delta Co.)
  • Atlas ICBM Launch Facility (Taylor Co.)
  • Wink High School (Winkler Co.)
  • Pleasant Hill Rosenwald School (Cass Co.)
  • Juanita Craft House (Dallas Co.)
  • Lewis Hotel (San Augustine Co.)
  • Nicholas Street School (Uvalde Co.)
  • Duval County Courthouse (Duval Co.)
  • Down's Field (Travis Co.)
  • Moorland YMCA Building (Dallas Co.)
  • Arroyo Colorado Lift Bridge (Cameron Co.)
  • Hezikiah Haskell House (Travis Co.)
  • Willacy County Courthouse (Willacy Co.)
  • Florence Robinson Cottage (RTHL) (Wood Co.)
  • Aspermont High School (Stonewall Co.)


Undertold Marker Map

Explore the Undertold Google map below to learn more about historical markers funded through the Undertold Program to promote diversity within the Official Texas Historical Marker Program.