Award of Excellence in Museums Recipients

The John L. Nau, III Award of Excellence in Museums, created in 2002, recognizes and honors the significant contributions of an individual or institution in the areas of historical interpretation, museum education, conservation of collections, and/or community involvement.

2022   Irving Archives and Museum, Irving

2021   Bell County Museum, Belton

2020   Harrison County Historical Museum, Marshall

2019   Kimble County Heritage Center, Junction

2018   Frontier Texas, Abilene

2017   Museum of the Coastal Bend at Victoria College, Victoria

2015   Mary Jon and J.P. Bryan, The Bryan Museum, Galveston

2014   Robert Oliver, Chisholm Trail Heritage Museum, Cuero

2013   Newton Warzecha, Presidio la Bahia, Goliad

2012   Gene Galbraith, Southwest Museum of Clocks and Watches, Lockhart

2011   Dr. Shawn B. Carlson, Republic of Texas Museum, Washington on the Brazos

2010   Howard Taylor, San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts, San Angelo

2009   Sharon Chamblee, Chair, Mineola Historical Museum Board

2008   Virginia Scott, Wolf Creek Heritage Museum, Lipscomb

2007   Larry Francell, Museum of the Big Bend, Alpine

2006   Priscilla Rodriguez, Brownsville Heritage Complex

2005   Christopher Dyer, Williamson County Historical Museum

2004   Mary L. Irving, Railroad & Heritage Museum, Temple

2003   Thomas A. Fort, Museum of South Texas History, Edinburg

2002   Jeff West, Sixth Floor Museum, Dallas