

The Texas Treasure Business Award Program recognizes the accomplishments of Texas businesses that have provided employment opportunities and support to the state's economy for at least 50 years. Created in 2005 by Senate Bill 920, authored by Sen. Leticia Van de Putte of San Antonio and sponsored by Rep. Charles "Doc" Anderson of Waco, the program pays tribute to the state's well-established businesses and their exceptional historical contributions toward the state's economic growth and prosperity.

Businesses can be nominated for this award by any elected state official or a business representative and must meet the following criteria:

- Have been in continuous for-profit operation in Texas for at least 50 years.
- Continue to operate the same or a very similar type of business as it did at least 50 years ago.
- Have a continuous record of employment for at least the past 50 years.
- Continue to operate as an independent, for-profit business (i.e., it cannot be operating as a subsidiary of or have been absorbed into another business)
- Maintain a good business relationship with the state.



May 12, 2015 City Hall Cuero, Texas

Anders Auto Supplies
Cuero Propane Gas Company
Cuero Record
DeWitt County Producers
Freund Funeral Home
M.H. Leske Oil Company
Paul R. Lucas Accounting & Tax Services
Reuss Pharmacy
Standard Printing Company
Thomas Surveyors





TrustTexas Bank SSB



Texas Treasures Business Award Ceremony

Hosted by Cuero Main Street, a department of the city of Cuero

- 4:30 Welcome, Mayor Sara Post Meyer, City of Cuero
- 4:35 History of Award, Deputy Executive Director Alvin Miller, Texas Historical Commission
- 4:45 Presentation of Awards, Alvin Miller and Mayor Post Meyer

Anders Auto Supplies

Cuero Propane Gas Company

DeWitt County Producers

Freund Funeral Home

M.H. Leske Oil Company

Paul R. Lucas Accounting & Tax Services

Reuss Pharmacy

Standard Printing Company

The Cuero Record

Thomas Surveyors

TrustTexas Bank SSB

City Proclamation, Mayor Post Meyer

Closing Remarks, Morgan Rath or Wayne Adickes

Anders Auto Supplies, 1935

Established by Oscar & Emma Anders, now owned by Alan & Mary Kahlich

Cuero Propane Gas Company, 1934

Established by Nick Cameron, now owned by Erwin & Annette Rath

DeWitt County Producers, 1948

First Board of Directors President, J.S. McCurdy, current President, Arlyn Seiler

Freund Funeral Home, 1924

Established by Josie Freund, now owned by Eric & Dawn Draper

M.H. Leske Oil Company, 1947

Established by Arthur "Bud" Leske and Martin "Shotsie" Leske, now owned by Martin Leske, Jr.

Paul R. Lucas Accounting & Tax Services, 1956

Established by Paul R. Lucas, now owned by Paul R. Lucas, Jr.

Reuss Pharmacy, 1845

Established by Dr. Joseph M. Reuss, now owned by Gerald Zengerle and David Polasek

Standard Printing Company, 1948

Established by W.F. Kautz, now owned by Gerald & Debbie Gonzales

The Cuero Record, 1894

Established by J.C. Howerton, Sr., now owned by Cuero Newspapers, Inc.

TrustTexas Bank SSB, 1921

State-chartered