Certified Local Government

The Certified Local Government (CLG) Program is a local, state, and federal government partnership for historic preservation. It is designed to help cities and counties develop high standards of preservation to protect a wide range of important historic properties—from ornate courthouses to working-class neighborhoods. Local governments that participate in the CLG Program act independently to develop and maintain a successful preservation program. The Texas Historical Commission administers the program at the state level and the National Park Service is the responsible federal agency. 



Number of CLG Communities in Texas

More Fast Facts

What's New

The City of Houston is now a CLG!

Congratulations to the City of Houston for becoming the state's newest CLG! Click HERE for a map of CLGs in Texas.  

Now Complete: FY2015 CLG Grants

Learn more about FY2015 CLG grants HERE