National Register of Historic Places

The National Register of Historic Places is a federal program administered in our state by the Texas Historical Commission in coordination with the National Park Service. Listing in the National Register provides national recognition of a property's historical or architectural significance and denotes that it is worthy of preservation. Buildings, sites, objects, structures and districts are eligible for this designation if they are at least 50 years old (with rare exceptions) and meet established criteria.

The National Register designation imposes no restrictions on property owners. Those receiving grant assistance or federal tax credits for rehabilitation projects, however, must adhere to certain standards. Private property may be listed unless a majority of owners object prior to listing.

More About National Register of Historic Places

What's New

Recent Listings

Catalog of NR Nominations in Texas

Status of Pending Nominations

LISTED October 2019

Yoakum Commercial Historic District
DeWitt and Lavaca counties

Main and Military Plazas Historic District (Boundary Increase)
San Antonio, Bexar County

LISTED September 2019

Brownsville City Hall and Market House
Brownsville, Cameron County

Fairhaven Retirement Home
Denton, Denton County

Bella Villa Apartments
Dallas, Dallas County

Feller-Barsch Homestead
Fredericksburg (vic.), Gillespie County

St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal Church
Houston, Harris County

St. James Methodist Episcopal Church
Waco, McLennan County

Roberts Clinic
Austin, Travis County

LISTED August 2019

Petroleum Building
Houston, Harris County

McGaugh Hosiery Mills - Airmaid Mills Building
Dallas, Dallas County

State Board of Review Deadlines and Agenda

The State Board of Review (SBR) meets three times each year to advise the State Historic Preservation Officer regarding National Register nominations. This review is required by federal law and provides an opportunity for public comment.

Upcoming SBR Meeting and Recent Activity

The following are dates for upcoming SBR meetings, and their corresponding deadlines for final draft nominations (previously reviewed by THC staff). 

Submit final drafts by 5pm on the corresponding deadline. Please see the "National Register Process in Texas" for additional information.

January 11, 2020 - Brownsville
CLG* - November 1, 2019
Non-CLG - November 29, 2019
* List of CLGs (Certified Local Governments)

May 16, 2020 - Mineral Wells
CLG* - March 1, 2020
Non-CLG - April 1, 2020
* List of CLGs (Certified Local Governments)

September 12, 2020 - Houston
CLG* - June 1, 2020
Non-CLG - July 1, 2020
* List of CLGs (Certified Local Governments)

Monuments and Buildings of the Texas Centennial

The 1936 Texas Centennial was the first statewide effort by Texans to commemorate historical events, places, and people. In 2018, the National Park Service approved THC’s “Monuments and Buildings of the Texas Centennial” Multiple Property Form that included a historic context for the statewide commemorative program of the 1930s and an inventory of associated properties. Beginning in 2018, several Centennial commemorative properties in Texas were individually listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP), and nominations for others are in process.




Mission 254: National Register Listings for Every Texas County

Since 1969, the Texas Historical Commission has assisted with the preparation and processing of National Register nominations. Most of these were initiated at the local level, by property owners, county historical commissions, preservation groups, and Texas Main Street and Certified Local Government programs. 27 Texas counties, however, have no properties listed in the National Register, but each one has properties that meet the criteria for listing, including: historic houses and residential neighborhoods; county courthouses and other public buildings such as schools and city halls; and downtown districts that include commercial, civic, and religious buildings.

The National Register program in Texas is still driven by local initiative, and our staff is happy to work with any and all applicants who wish to gain national recognition for the historic properties they value, as long as they meet at least one of the National Register criteria and retain a good degree on integrity. We invite residents and property owners in these 27 counties to identify and nominate your local historic treasures. For more information, contact the National Register Coordinator.

Bailey  Gaines Sherman
Baylor Haskell Sterling
Borden Jim Hogg Stonewall
Castro King Swisher
Cochran Lamb Terry
Crane McMullen Titus
Delta Moore Upton
Duval Reeves Ward
Foard Scurry Yoakum