Charles Goodnight and his business partner John Adair established the JA Ranch, the first cattle ranch in the Texas panhandle in 1877 in the Palo Duro Canyon area. In 1887, Goodnight established the Goodnight-Thayer Cattle Company in present Armstrong County and built a spacious Victorian-style two-story ranch house. The Goodnight home is restored on its original site and features a 268-square-foot second-floor sleeping porch with spectacular views of the countryside and the nearby bison herd that are actual descendants of the herd raised by Charles and Mary Ann Goodnight.
The Charles and Mary Ann Goodnight Ranch State Historic Site includes the J. Evetts Haley Visitor and Education Center, which offers exhibits about the Goodnights, bison, and the settlement of the area. A Quanah Parker Trail giant arrow marker on the grounds serves to commemorate the friendship between Charles Goodnight and Quanah Parker, last Chief of the Comanche.
We invite you to Goodnight Ranch to experience a cowboy Christmas on the open range! Cowboys sang songs and strummed guitars to relax after a long day on the trail. The soothing sounds of cowboys singing also calmed a jumpy herd of cattle in...
From the Blog
Dozens of arrows, 22 feet tall, pierce the landscape of the Panhandle Plains. They commemorate Quanah Parker, last chief of the Comanche (Nʉmʉnʉʉ), and the territory called Comanchería where his people lived. Parker was the son of a Quahada Comanche man and a white woman, a heritage that made a lasting impact on his life.
His mother was Cynthia Ann Parker, who was famously...
Searching for the perfect gift that supports the Texas Historical Commission’s programs? We are pleased to share our holiday gift guide to inspire ideas for fans of history and heritage travel.
Our state historic sites’ museum stores offer products that will make this Christmas more magical. See full...
Click on any image to view the photo gallery.